Events > Event

14 Aug. - 02 Oct. 2004


Art Metropole is pleased to present the Canadian premiere of EN/OF, the collaborative series of editions by contemporary visual artists with experimental musicians, published in Germany.

The series includes works by Stan Douglas, Doug Aitken, Liam Gillick, David Shrigley, Dan Graham, and Jonathon Monk, among others.

Musicians include Tim Hecker, Steve Roden, Rob Mazurek, Terre Thaemlitz, Mark Nelson (aka Pan-American), David Grubbs and many more.

The latest EN/OF edition, by Toronto artists AA Bronson and Andrew Zealley, will be released at a reception at Art Metropole on Thursday, September 16, 2004 from 7:00 to 9:00 pm. Both of the artists, AA Bronson and Andrew Zealley, and the publisher Robert Meijer, will be present.

AA Bronson has produced a series of five photographic portraits from his NEST series, presenting gay men naked in their own beds. The works reclaim the bed as a site for life and intimacy, after a period in which we have seen the bed depicted largely as a site for death and dying. Each edition will contain one photographic print, so each image is in fact in an edition of 20. Andrew Zealley presents FIVE NOCTURNES FOR ELECTRICITY, a suite of five pieces based on themes of dreaming. The first four movements play at 33 rpm, the final plays at 45 rpm. The works are constructed of original site recordings from the cities of Toronto and Firenze, merged with string quartet and digital wave-shaping. In Nocturne #3, Zealley uses the voice of AA Bronson with the repeated phrase “like a dream.”

Including the new edition by AA Bronson and Andrew Zealley, twenty-four editions will be presented at Art Metropole.

The editions are packaged in a traditional double-LP gatefold jacket, and hold a 12” vinyl recording in one pocket, and an artwork in the other. They are signed and numbered by both artists in a limited edition of 100. Both the visual works and the audio works are created expressly for EN/OF.

Works by Stan Douglas, Sam Durant, Liam Gillick, Elmgreen & Dragset, and Daniel Roth are also still available for purchase. The editions sell at $200 Cdn per collaboration, but be warned, they sell out fast! To reserve your copy, contact or telephone 416.703.4400.

EN/OF is published by Robert Meijer of Bottrop Boy, Kleve, Germany.


1: Doug Aitken.
2: Thomas Demand.
3: Sam Durant.
4: Liam Gillick.
5: Franz Ackermann.
6: AA Bronson.

  1. aitken
  2. demand
  3. durant
  4. gillick
  5. ackerman
  6. andrew