Events > Event

20 Mar. 2002

Governor General's Visual Art and Media Awards

AA Bronson

“Ottawa, 12 March 2002 – The Canada Council for the Arts today announced the names of the seven winners of the third annual Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts. Artists AA Bronson, Charles Gagnon, Edward Poitras, David Rokeby, Barbara Steinman and Irene Whittome, and curator, art collector and philanthropist Ydessa Hendeles will be presented with their awards by Her Excellency Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada, and Canada Council Chairman Jean-Louis Roux at a ceremony at Rideau Hall on Wednesday, March 20. .” -excerpt from the Canada Council

AA Bronson, born Michael Tims, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, 1946 -.


1: Laureate Barbara Steinman, Montreal, and Oga Korper of the Olga Korper Gallery, Toronto, pause for a photo op during the seven hour orgy of festivities at glamourous Rideau Hall,.
2: . The next day, the Laureates were presented to the House of Commons and received a standing ovation. Speaker of the House Peter Milliken hosted a reception for the Laureates in his private chambers. Here he poses for a portrait with Laureate Ydessa.
3: Her Excellency Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada, poses for a portrait with Laureate Ydessa Hendeles and her mother in one of the many reception rooms at Rideau Hall.
4: Laureate AA Bronson and Canada Council Director Shirley Thomson with Mark Krayenhoff and Wayne Baerwald, the new director of the Power Plant, Toronto.
5: Laureates AA Bronson, Edward Poitras and Barbara Steinman appaluad Ydess'a speech of acceptance. AA flirts with the camera.
6: AA Bronson receives his award from Her Excellency Adrienne Clarkson and is congratulated by John Ralston Saul.
7: lleft to right: back row- AA Bronson, David Rokeby, Edward Poitras, Barbara Steinman, Ydessa Hendeles; front row: , Shirley Thomson (Director of the Canada Council), Irene Whittome, Their Excellencies John Ralston Saul and Adrienne Clarkson (Governor General of Canada), Charles Gagnon, Jean-Louis Roux (Chair of the Canada Council).

  1. barbara.olga
  2. ydessa1
  3. adri.ydessa
  4. aa.shirley
  5. group
  6. -aaward
  7. -laureates