Events > Book Launch

05 Apr. 2014

Zeesy Powers: Eight Stories

Book Launch and Reading
4:00pm - 7:0

A new collection of short stories by Zeesy Powers, with accompanying illustrations.
Open edition and limited edition with original watercolour.

Eight Stories is Zeesy Powers’ first collection of short stories, written as emails to friends in 2012 and 2013. It was published with the generous support of Wil Aballe Art Projects in Vancouver.

Zeesy Powers’ performances question our relationship to the unstated rules of social interaction in our (increasingly public) private lives. Since 2007 she has been performing I Will Tell You Exactly What I Think of You, examining the desire to see ourselves reflected in another, and how this is complicated by degrees of publicity, from theatrical to digital. Her new project Common Fate involves ten dancers performing solos in a round, layering and altering meaning as music, dance and projections cycle through one another. Zeesy’s performances and videos have been shown in New York, Los Angeles, Berlin, Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver, Mexico City, and southern Japan.

Order now:
Eight Stories, Regular Edition
Softcover, perfect bound, 87 pp., 15 × 10.5 × 1 cm., colour reproductions of watercolours, English text.

Eight Stories, Special Edition
Softcover, perfect bound, dustjacket with die-cut cover, 87 pp., 15 × 10.5 × 1 cm., watercolour and acrylic unique edition between dustjacket and front cover (signed and dated by the artist), colour reproductions of watercolours inside, English text. Signed and numbered edition of 50.


Book cover (left) and pages from Zeesy Powers' Eight Stories.

  1. Zeesy_Powers_banner_575by189_web