Shop > Audio


The Definitive Host: Audio CD and booklet

Brian Joseph Davis
14 × 21.6 × 0.1 cm

“The Definitive Host” is a collection of music and audio projects by Brian Joseph Davis created between 2004-2007, ranging from “Burned Album Scratching” to “Glitch Soul,” “Frankfurt School Punk” and “Mournal Choirs of Publicity Generated Pop Covers” and in the spirit of repackaging this 59-minute CD begins with two exclusive all-new works.

According to Chris Cutler:

“5 large-scale plunderphonic pieces: 5 box sets recorded on fast forward and edited into songs; 10 banned albums burned, then played; a script composed from over 500 film promo taglines (funny); 22 love songs, all played at once (nice). Plus a punk Adorno 7 inch (minima Moralia), the Sony BMG ‘end user agreement’ set for choir and Yesterduh (for massed mis-singing passers-by). Not everything works, but enough. Nicely packaged in a 12pp colour booklet.”

All sounds and images created by Brian Joseph Davis except where noted. Mastering and additional production by Jakob Theisen.

CD comes packaged in 10 page colour glossy booklet.

Track Listing:

1 Eula
2 The Franklin Mint Job
3 Il Bouno, Il Bruto, Il Skronko
4 iLife Stinks
5 The Ambient Honky
6 An Audio Walk Through Greater Newcastle
7 1913
8 1933
9 1963/2005
10 1966
11 1977
12 1984
13 1987
14 1988
15 1989
16 Voice Over
17 Yesterduh (All Together Now)
18 Yesterduh (Joe Meek)
19 Minima Medley
20 All You Get From Love Is 22 Love Songs

  1. The Definitive Host: Audio CD and booklet

Related Items

  1. Brian Joseph Davis: Original Soundtrack: Audio CD
  2. Brian Joseph Davis: Yesterduh
  3. Andrew Deutsch, Tetsu Inoue, and Stephen Vitiello: Humming Bird Feeder, Ver0.2
  4. Ken Buera and Don Simmons: EMMAX : birthday song
  5. Andrew Zealley: The Quick and the Dead
  6. Rakett: Darling Don’t Leave Me All By Myself
  7. Black Sun Productions: Dies Juvenalis
  8. Andrew Zealley: Empathetic Ear
  9. AA Bronson and Andrew Zealley: AA Bronson Healer
  10. Eve Egoyan: New Music For Piano: thethingsinbetween
  11. Francisco López: Köllt/Kulu
  12. Black Sun Productions: Astral Walk
  13. Dreary Architecture on Your Soul
  14. East of Gage
  15. White Material
  16. Andrew Zealley: This is True to Me
  17. Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass
  18. Alejandra and Aeron: Porto (folklore fragments volume 2)
  19. Alan Licht: A New York Minute
  20. Labia Minora: ANGELBLOOD
  21. M.Stacktor : DRILL