Shop > Catalogues


Cheap Meat Dreams and Acorns

Plug In Editions
17 × 22 × 1 cm

This fully illustrated monograph published by Plug In ICA, with analysis and commentary by: Robert Enright (Winnipeg writer and critic), Hope Peterson (Winnipeg media artist and colleague), Tapio Makela (Finnish media artist and director of ISEA 2004), and Kathleen Pirrie Adams (writer, critic, Toronto).Designed by Susan Chafe

The book documents Ken Gregory’s career through music and performance, sound creations and eventually the major installation pieces, placing him in the context of recent Canadian art history. Included with the book is a CD with a selection of music and sound works composed by Ken.

Ken Gregory has experimented with form and technology for more than fifteen years, creating interactive computer-based installations. He is currently working on the exploration of the use of computers towards building user-defined interactive computer software and hardware for the making and performing of media art works. He approaches the work through process and intuitive application of tools and ideas, discovering and learning through constant experimentation. Ken Gregory is among a stellar group of Canadian artists that includes David Rokeby, Stan Douglas and Janet Cardiff, whose technology-based art installations are causing international audiences to take note of Canadian artists.

  1. Cheap Meat Dreams and Acorns

Related Items

  1. spbm: Complex Order: Institutions in Public Space
  2. Paul Butler: My Mad Skillz
  3. $5 Handshake: Art on Treaty 8 Territory
  4. AA Bronson and Peter Hobbs: Queer Spirits
  5. Marcel Dzama: More Famous Drawings
  6. Exhibition Notes: Entering the Landscape
  7. Exhibition Notes: Days of Reading
  8. Angie Keefer: Second Thoughts
  9. David Askevold: Red Rider
  10. David Buchan: Inside the Image
  11. Eric Cameron: In the Picture and Lawn
  12. Tom Dean: The Ten Commandments
  13. Robert Flack and Andrew Zealley: This is True to Me
  14. Eldon Garnet: Trembling
  15. Douglas Gordon: Through a Looking Glass
  16. Cornelia Hess Honeggen: The Future’s Mirror
  17. Carl Skelton: The Tourist
  18. Berit Jensen: Relative States of Horror Vacui
  19. Michelango Pistoletto
  20. Heinz-Gunter Prager: H.G. Prager