Shop > Audio


sitting on theories on the frontier of extension

Cal Crawford
squint fucker press
13 × 13 cm

Here Crawford examines the impossibilities of holding still. For ‘sitting on theories on the frontier on extension ‘, his first full length solo CD, he generated sounds by sitting on top of a bundle of blankets with a microphone rolled up into its center. This one hour process was his starting point. He did further recordings by putting pressure on various types of microphones: in water, clothing, skin, etc. Pressure was also created by heat with boiling water. The title “sitting on theories on the frontier on extension” refers to Crawford’s attempts to create a spatially extended recording from acts that lacked a movement through space and instead focused on increasing the distance of/inside specific points, pressure points.

Edition of 500.

Track Listing:

1 Untitled 16:00
2 Untitled 4:20
3 Untitled 15:30
4 Untitled 7:55
5 Untitled 4:38
6 Untitled 7:10
7 Untitled 8:58
8 Untitled 1:39
9 Untitled 6:59

  1. sitting on theories on the frontier of extension

Related Items

  1. Jonathan Parent: littérature
  2. Albatross Note: The Art Lodge Tapes
  3. Kelly Mark: I Really Should
  4. John Oswald: Aparanthesi
  5. Alan Licht: A New York Minute
  6. Jackson MacLow: Open Secrets
  7. 40 Years and One: Philip Corner Plays the Piano
  8. Labia Minora: ANGELBLOOD
  9. Eric Doeringer: CD 2002
  10. John Oswald: Plunderphonic - Plexure
  11. Black Sun Productions: Astral Walk
  12. Coil: Gold is the Metal with the Broadest Shoulders
  13. Andrew Deutsch, Tetsu Inoue, and Stephen Vitiello: Humming Bird Feeder, Ver0.2
  14. Alejandra and Aeron: Porto (folklore fragments volume 2)
  15. Thom Kubli: labortag