Shop > Audio


The Hidden Cameras : Ecce Homo

The Hidden Cameras

Ecce Homo is a 2001 album by The Hidden Cameras. The band’s first album, it was released independently on Gibb’s own label EvilEvil. Several of the songs were re-recorded on the band’s later releases. This Canadian edition is on CD.

From Exclaim:

“Ecce Homo is their first record, a lo-fi affair that was written and performed on a four-track by singer/ songwriter/ guitarist Joel Gibb. Though this recording is from the early stages of the Hidden Cameras, it is a strong representation of the material played at the shows (with fewer instruments). Gibb’s natural ability to create sweet harmonies is truly impressive, as each song on the record is as hummable as the next. Instant comparisons are the folkier, wittier Belle & Sebastian compositions, the fanaticism of Hefner’s earlier material and the lulled vocals of John Denver. Besides the wonderful melodies and lingering vocals, Gibb also shines in his lyrical content and subject matter. Lyrically, songs like “Ode to Self-Publishing, Fear of ‘Zine Failure,” “The International Mild Mannered Army” and “High Upon the Church Grounds” are as interesting and entertaining as the titles sound.” – Cam Lindsay, 2002

Packaged in traditional jewel case with red plastic interior.

Track Listing:

A Miracle … 2:43
The International M.M.A. – The Mild Mannered Army … 4:26
Steal All You Can Motherfucker … 2:35
Ode To Self-Publishing – Fear Of ‘Zine Failure … 2:55
He Is The Boss Of Me … 3:12
I Believe In The Good Of Life … 3:44
High Upon The Church Grounds … 4:31
Heavy Flow Of Evil … 3:05
Worms Cannot Swim Nor Can They Walk … 4:09

  1. The Hidden Cameras : Ecce Homo

Related Items

  1. The Hidden Cameras at Hebbel Am Ufer - HAU1 (poster)
  2. The Hidden Cameras : The Arms of his “ill“
  3. The Hidden Cameras: Hidden Cameras : Hand-Painted Buttons
  4. Joel Gibb and The Hidden Cameras: The Third Leg Buttons
  5. The Hidden Cameras: AGE CD
  6. The Hidden Cameras: AGE LP
  7. Don Pyle and Andrew Zealley: Proteus
  8. KAISERIN - a magazine for boys with problems - Issue 04
  9. Albatross Note: The Art Lodge Tapes
  10. Eve Egoyan: Erik Satie: Hidden Corners (Recoins)
  11. Martin Creed: I Can’t Move
  12. Kelly Mark: I Really Should
  13. John Oswald: Aparanthesi
  14. Alan Licht: A New York Minute
  15. Jackson MacLow: Open Secrets
  16. 40 Years and One: Philip Corner Plays the Piano
  17. Labia Minora: ANGELBLOOD
  18. Eric Doeringer: CD 2002
  19. John Oswald: Plunderphonic - Plexure
  20. Black Sun Productions: Astral Walk
  21. Coil: Gold is the Metal with the Broadest Shoulders
  22. Andrew Deutsch, Tetsu Inoue, and Stephen Vitiello: Humming Bird Feeder, Ver0.2
  23. Alejandra and Aeron: Porto (folklore fragments volume 2)