Shop > Audio


No Contest

Standard Form
13 × 13 × 0.3 cm

Feuermusik (pronounced FOY-er-mu-zik) is Jeremy Strachan (woodwinds) and Gus Weinkauf (percussion). This Toronto-based duo has been writing and performing since 2004. Their music may inaccurately be described as experimental or jazz or experimental jazz. Their first record, Goodbye, Lucille (2006, independent) features nine arrangements for various woodwind ensembles and percussion. Their second record, No Contest (2008, Standard Form) features eight arrangements for the same. Both releases are extensions of their live performances as a duo. Strachan and Weinkauf have been active as musicians in the Toronto area for the last decade, and count amongst their greatest influences the talented and inspiring musicians with whom they have played over the years.

Track Listing:

1 Litany Of Fervent Supplication 6:31
2 Full Of Grace 3:20
3 Nearness / Distance 7:55
4 Dreadnought 5:08
5 Belles 7:11
6 Now Here There 3:39
7 Holding – Sway 5:31
8 Nobody Knows De Trouble I See 6:56

  1. No Contest

Related Items

  1. Stands for ICPMABOYC
  2. Canaille: Potential Things
  3. Jeremy Strachan: The Heart of the Matter
  4. Rural Route #3, by Martin Clarke, 3“ CD
  5. Muskox: 5 Pieces
  6. Katie Bond Pretti: Sonority of Words
  7. Alex Durlak: A Report/Un Rapport
  8. Standard Form Editions Wrapping Paper
  9. Place Hands/Letlowns/Feuermusik poster
  10. Martin Creed: I Can’t Move
  11. Kelly Mark: I Really Should
  12. John Oswald: Aparanthesi
  13. Alan Licht: A New York Minute
  14. Jackson MacLow: Open Secrets
  15. 40 Years and One: Philip Corner Plays the Piano
  16. Labia Minora: ANGELBLOOD
  17. Eric Doeringer: CD 2002
  18. John Oswald: Plunderphonic - Plexure
  19. Black Sun Productions: Astral Walk
  20. Coil: Gold is the Metal with the Broadest Shoulders
  21. Andrew Deutsch, Tetsu Inoue, and Stephen Vitiello: Humming Bird Feeder, Ver0.2
  22. Alejandra and Aeron: Porto (folklore fragments volume 2)
  23. Thom Kubli: labortag