Shop > Audio


The Heart of the Matter

Jeremy Strachan
Standard Form

‘The Heart of the Matter’ is the first release by Toronto musician Jeremy Strachan. It features four solo woodwind performances written as responses to a series of drawings by Toronto visual artist Katie Bond Pretti. They were recorded at the Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery in a large, cavernous space. Strachan writes of the performances “I hear these improvisations as lines of sound being cast into a vast expanse of open space, articulations of form and movement navigating though an unknown emptiness. The gallery’s overwhelmingly reverberant properties circumscribed much of how I played, and these pieces accentuate the acoustical conditions of the space in which they were created. As such, they are likewise as much musical iterations of the gallery as they are of Pretti’s series.” Strachan has been writing, arranging, and performing music in many different contexts for over a decade. He currently plays in Feuermusik, Hylozoists, and as a duo with ex-CCMC member Jack Vorvis. 36:37 running length. Limited edition of 1000.

  1. The Heart of the Matter

Related Items

  1. Feuermusik: No Contest
  2. Canaille: Potential Things
  3. Stands for ICPMABOYC
  4. Rural Route #3, by Martin Clarke, 3“ CD
  5. Muskox: 5 Pieces
  6. Alex Durlak: A Report/Un Rapport
  7. Standard Form Editions Wrapping Paper
  8. Black Sun Productions: Dies Juvenalis
  9. Alex Durlak: Rural Route #4
  10. Rural Route #2, by Kyle Bobby Dunn, 3“ CD
  11. Etaoin Shrdlu: Mating Calls
  12. William Ashley Cooper: The Collected Works
  13. The Hidden Cameras : Ecce Homo
  14. Rodney Graham, Jeff Wall, and Ian Wallace: UJ3RK5 Live from the Commodore Ballroom
  15. Fleshtone Auras/Dylan Nyoukis Split LP
  16. Andrew Zealley: Empathetic Ear
  17. Place Hands/Letlowns/Feuermusik poster
  18. Man’s Ruin
  19. There Will Be a Rock Performance
  20. Two New Albums One Late Night
  21. Ronin Furdyk: Twenty-Four Composers
  22. Jesse Harris : Notebook
  23. Ronin Furdyk: Twenty-Four Composers Poster
  24. John Baldesarri: QSL Audio Publication
  25. Martin Creed: I Can’t Move
  26. Muntadas: Stadium
  27. Michael Snow: Canadian Art Presents the Walking Woman